another night at the theatre

31 Jan

I’m going to have to take a stab in the dark on this one. Attached to a building on Turbot St are these laser cut metal ..shades.. I guess. Covered in years and names of plays. I’m going to assume there was a theatre on the land this building was eventually built on. To be honest, I really don’t know. If anyone knows anything, feel free to help me out here. Would the date be the year it was shown at this mystery theatre?

Still it’s pretty cool, and another example of really having to pay attention to what’s around you (and look up! damnit) I wouldn’t have noticed this had it not been for me seeing some odd patterns out of the corner of my eye.

Add a comment and let me know if you have any informative details about this one. Even an address (I forgot to take notes on account of the old guy standing at the bottom of the building, shifting around and staring at me)

4 Responses to “another night at the theatre”

  1. Ben January 31, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Hey – there used to be a theatre there for performance I think, not flims from what I remember, I think Suncorp.

    • decoratingbrisbane February 1, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      Cheers, though it’s near impossible to find photos of this Suncorp Theatre, and Google hasn’t been much help at all.

  2. Annette January 31, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Yep, the Cremorne theatre was originally there and showed many good plays, some of which I went to with my Grandmother when I was a young girl.

    • decoratingbrisbane January 31, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      From what I can gather the Cremorne Theatre was originally where QPAC used to be, before it burnt down in the 1950s. They named one of the theatres in the building the Cremorne in honour of the old one.

Leave a Reply

