boredom, floody boredom

14 Jan

I’ve been trying to do a bit of a tidy up and cull of things over the past month, and one of the things I realised had to go was alot of the magazines. I just seemed to be hoarding them beyond a manageable level, and there’s only so many bookshelves I can buy and fit into this place, and I also don’t want to end up on one of those TV shows.

I wasn’t all too sure what to do with them. I went through alot of issues prior to 2010 and went through them, tore out recipes and various inspiration pieces and donated a large pile to a mate that does decopage.

But what to do with the rest? A pile of about 10 magazines had been sitting on the floor of my loungeroom for weeks (cause I’m so damn tidy at times). I was going through my image folder yesterday when I came across these pieces I did in Word during a particularly boring day at my last job:

Pretty simple really, small parts of images found while going through my image folder, or found typing random words into Google Image Search. I called it 200×200 (the size of each square in pixels at full size – an A3 sheet) and I did 5 of them, the above is 200×200-3.

I’ve had a few canvases sitting around, begging for some action for a while now, 4 of which are the same size. So I decided to do another patchwork collage across all 4. No real theme to it (I toyed with the idea based on the sort of pictures I had collected… faces, typography, furniture, toys… but they didn’t look as good). My art wall is still feeling very bare compared to it’s once covered and colourful life. I miss it, but I’m determined to never use blu tac on a wall again.

There’s only so much you can do during the night, my sleep’s been all off because I couldn’t sleep when the water was at it’s worse, just in case it did reach me (and the tides were always very early in the morning), so I spent most of the night awake, and napped during the day.

All of the squares were 5cm x 4cm, and I used some little template squares cut out of some manilla folder:

About three hours of cutting out rectangles, and then some PVA Glue and two episodes of Futurama later, four canvases covered in colour and design, drying slowly.

I’ll get the wrinkles out, probably spray them with some gloss, and I’m actually liking the look of them at the moment, all sitting along side each other as one continuous piece, so I may hot glue the canvases together and put it somewhere, instead of the separate canvases in different positions.

Opinions? Thoughts?

2 Responses to “boredom, floody boredom”

  1. Giovanna January 14, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    so good Kinko.. I would love one for somewhere in my place 🙂

    • decoratingbrisbane January 14, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      I’ll see if I can find some more canvases. I ended up glueing and staple-gunning them together to form one canvas. They’re now above the TV next to the owl clock.

Leave a Reply

