trying desperately to win friends with salad

10 Jan

Thanks to my little sojourn to the emergency ward, I’ve lost the muscle definition I worked so hard for, and put on a little cushion around the middle.

While I can’t really exercise much yet, I’m trying to avoid pasta and the like for a while. Which brings me back to a long forgotten friend, salad.

Ok, maybe not avoid pasta entirely, but go for a lighter option... like fettucini pasta with peas, fetta, parsley and a hint of lemon juice.

Salad and I used to get along swimmingly in my uni days, with some tuna and Chang’s Fried Noodles. Then we sort of drifted apart.

We got back together briefly in 2007 when I started to work in the city, and every second meal consisted of a Boost Juice and a Sumo Salad. Then once again, life (and finances took over) and we once again drifted…. like ships in the night.

Using those packs of salad mix you get from Coles, I’ve attempted to create delicious, filling salads for my lunches at work. Last weeks effort was a plum chicken salad:

Plum Chicken Salad with a Ginger and Wholegrain Mustard Vinaigrette (I managed 3 large lunch salads with the below)

For the Salad:

  • 2 chicken breasts, sliced into strips, and cooked in a small amount of oil until brown, then add 1/4 jar of plum sauce and cook until caramelized (and the chicken is completely cooked through)
  • Fetta (I used about a 3rd of a block for each salad – because I love fetta)
  • Sundried tomatos (get the ones packaged without oil, a handful of these chopped up)
  • About a tablespoon of baby capers (don’t worry, they don’t overpower, and they almost dissapear with the fetta)
  • Salad mix
  • Pepita/Pinenut/Sunflower seed mix (not sure why inspired adding this, but it gave it a nice little crunch, so I went with it)

For the dressing (best to make the night before so the flavours can meld together well):

I’m not giving measurements for this one, because I didn’t measure anything out, I just poured in what felt right and adjusted for taste

  • Sesame oil (you only need a small amount)
  • White pepper
  • Oil (I used sunflower, but you can use olive)
  • Chinese cooking wine (just a bit)
  • Vinegar
  • Dried parsley (I used about a teaspoon worth)
  • Wholegrain mustard
  • Ginger puree

Shake all of this together in a jar until it’s nice a mixed.

This week will probably be the same (though I may substitute the fetta – which is almost all gone, for jarlsberg) using stir fry beef strips cooked in satay powder.

I also need to find some tinned mandarin segments, as I once did the plum chicken with mandarin segments, and it was delicious.

And hopefully I can get my hands on some vegetables to roast in the coming days and have some delicious roast veggie salads (with a hint of couscous!)

Do you have a favourite salad? Any inspiration you can give? Any recipes?

One Response to “trying desperately to win friends with salad”

  1. Laverne T. Mercer January 18, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Grill – Preheat grill Season 5 chicken thighs and 5 dumsticks bone in skin on with salt and pepper to taste. Turn the chicken over brush with the sauce and continue grilling for 3 to 4 minutes turn over and brush with sauce.

Leave a Reply

