21st Century: Art in the First Decade

9 Jan

After a week of being taunted by amazing photos on facebook, I finally got the chance to go to GoMA and see the 21st Century: Art in the First Decade exhibit with Luke (my jam making friend). Fantastic art works, installations, activities for the kids (that I hope to go back when it’s a little less heavy on the child traffic and give a go) and other visual treats for the eyes (included some Damien Hirst wallpapers!)

I believe I’ll let the photos do the majority of the talking on this one! And I highly recommend going to see this!

A few of my favourites include

  • the large fibreglass elephant, on the verge of death, covered in bindis.
  • The two Damien Hirst wallpapers (one is flowers with cigarette butts, the other is pills corresponding to biblical verses)
  • Knitted peacock (AKA – One of the gayest things I’ve ever seen)
  • Giant structure made of plastic bags
  • The wall covered in chinese advertising
  • Mosaic made of pieces of mirror (the light bouncing from this was amazing, and the photos don’t do it an iota of justic)
2 Responses to “21st Century: Art in the First Decade”

  1. Ross January 10, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Did you see the Aviary with the finches?

    • decoratingbrisbane January 10, 2011 at 6:04 am #

      ..no 😦 See, I really do need to go back! Though I loved in the kids section the little zoo that had plush animals in it.

Leave a Reply

