the long walk home

16 Nov

I wish to start this post off with one main word: Ouch.

And now I’ll work my way backwards.

I was invited to a BBQ at a the same friends place whom I made jam with many posts ago. (I comandeered the BBQ when I cooked the meat – Thanks for hosting my BBQ at your place Luke!) Everything winded down, and I left at 9pm.

His workings of a Deer Head using corflute. I’m all kinds of jealous. It looks awesome! (props to me for hooking him up with the template though….)

Buses don’t service that particular part of town after 7:15 on a Sunday night. So guess who had to walk home! I know! I got excited too! (…through the tears). 2 hours of trudging through suburbia until I hit the bright lights of home.

HOWEVER! Fantastic little tidbits were spotted along the way.

Looking for the largest collection of Tiffany-style lamps and pendants? Vintage Aura on Logan Road has you covered there!

See… more lamps than you’ll ever need! Aren’t you glad you’ve got me! And while I’m not really a fan of that style of lamp, I’ve got to say that in the context (antique store), they worked. Though the Eames Lounger that was in the window of one further up the road was a greater cause of doubletaking and drooling on my behalf.

Across the road from which, was a construction site with this stencilled dear on the black plywood fence:

Hello. My name is Chloe Sevigny, and it has recently been brought to my attention that I love Hallowe’en.

That has to be one of the best (read: detailed) stencil pieces I’ve seen around Brisbane so far (which in the grand scheme of things is a bit sad… haven’t any graffiti artists in Brisbane been to Melbourne? Or heard of Banksy?). Though there has been alot of cool wheatpaste art around the place.

It was all a bit dry and boring until I hit the Woolloongabba Fiveways. They recently renewed the area with large lampshade style street lamps, seating, and… a traffic signal box!

Walking along the bridge home I even saw some people doing a John Lennon/Yoko Ono-esque love in on the beach at Kangaroo Point with “PEACE” written in the sand. It was 10:30, so the photo is horrible, but I’ll see what I can do with it and try to post it.

So eventually I made it home. And I was in pain. And thus ended the long walk home.

2 Responses to “the long walk home”

  1. Bazz November 16, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    How much were the lamps approx? They’d look awesome in my oldschool-styled bar.

Leave a Reply

