oh…my…gourd!

7 Nov

I’m thinking of buying a cute frilly little apron to wear when I come over to mums. Cooking is inevitable. And it’s always good to be appropriately dressed for the occasion.

Case in point this morning. I’m making pumpkin pie. Traditional American food. Rarely had here. But always heard about at some point in American movies, because the potential spouse/love interest/Sandra Bullock will end up meeting parents/family/distant relatives of lead actor/actress/Ryan Reynolds. Mum told me she made some, and it was really good, and I’ve been wanting to either have a crack at cooking it, or just eating it, for some time now. Today I get to do both.

I’m following a recipe she clipped out of the newspaper, and I’ve retyped it for you below… but with photos and notes!:

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients (MAKES 2 PIES)

2 Ready-made shortcust pastry cases

500g butternut pumpkin, skinned and cubed

Skinned pumpkin

Skinned pumpkin

2 eggs, lightly beaten

3/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed

1/3 cup buttermilk (I never really knew what this was…I still don’t really, it was always just something that got mentioned in Charlotte’s Web)

1 tbsp marsala or sweet sherry (Oh yeah, it’s 1950’s housewife time, a few sneaky sips of the cooking sherry before the husband and children come home)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp ground ginger

All the ingredients... minus one egg. Chickens had only laid one, so waiting for mother to come back home with more eggs. Might have to start on the sherry while I wait.

All the ingredients... minus one egg. Chickens had only laid one, so waiting for mother to come back home with more eggs. Might have to start on the sherry while I wait.

Method

1. Bring pumpkin to the boil and cook until tender. Drain, mash to a fine consistency and allow to cool slightly.

I think that's "smooth consistency" enough

I think that's "smooth consistency" enough

2. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius

3. Whisk together eggs and sugar in a large bowl. Add the pumpkin, buttermilk (buttermilk looks weird, a little semenesque), liqueur and spices and mix throughly.

4. Divide the misture between the two pastry cases and smooth over with the back of a spoon

5. Bake for 40 minutes or until set. Serve warm or at room temperature with cream or vanilla ice-cream.

....These should really be cooling on a window sill while a neighbour child smells it and tries to steal it.

....These should really be cooling on a window sill while a neighbour child smells it and tries to steal it.

It was all pretty easy. I don’t know what everyone complains about. Though to be fair, I’m not roasting a turkey at the same time…. Taste update to follow later! It’s a beautiful day out, and I’d like to thank the below songs for letting me rock out to them while I made this.

2 Responses to “oh…my…gourd!”

  1. Sid November 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Wow, you’re a hero for cooking the squash yourself. Here (Canada) we go buy pre-cooked pumpkin puree in a can, add a few things, mix, dump it into a pie shell and bake. I’ve never thought about using a butternut either. Hmm, may have to get motivated to try this.

    • decoratingbrisbane November 8, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      Really? But it’s so easy to make the puree yourself!
      I don’t think you can buy it in a can in stores here… but I think i might’ve seen it at Chocolate Boulevard in the CBD, where you can buy imported candy and soft drink (soda).

Leave a Reply

