if you see a faded sign at the side of the road that says 15 miles to the dump shop!

6 Nov

It’s been quite some time, my dear readers, but today I finally got it on once again with my best friend. While it disappointed a little, absense had made the heart grow fonder, and I was glad to return to the dump shop.

Still filled with rank moles and their spawn, the dump shop is where I go to get my retro/kook/craft on. Not where I buy my clothes and toys from, except for that one time, but I decapitated that bear and mounted him!

Usually giving the place a bit of time between visits means there’s alot of awesome stuff, not so much the case this time (the swag wasn’t that big, and the woman charged us way too much for what we had in the trolley….), though, it was filled with some rather sweet retro refrigerators!

Old school Electrolux fridge. The interior shot didn’t end up saving on my phone. But it was (as all old fridges are) so much smaller on the inside then they appear on the outside!

I’m guessing “Junky Kev” had a rather fitting retro themed 50th.

Sweet door detail. Love these old handles that you actually have to pull out in order to open the door. (Locking mechanisms back then, none of this magnetic closing!)

Ahhhh 195os/60s fonts. Space Age (Pixar’s Cars?) dairy anyone?

It does look a little car-esque on the inside. I like that they didn’t have freezers then, just “frozen food shelves”… and the lack of frost free meant they turned in to hunks of ice encasing your meat rather quickly. Funny story – my freezer at home is so dedicated to it’s frost free ability that ice will slowly disappear if left unused for too long. Freezer has a serious case of the noms for ice. Makes summer a bit of a trial though.

And how about some old sewing machine action with…omg… 5 whole different stitches!

 …..when did Deluxe go from being hyphenated to just being one word? Was it around the same time Today decided to do the same?

But, I didn’t get any of that. I already have a sewing machine (and it’s not attached to it’s own table), and my fridge has all of it’s shelves and actually works! And no joy on finding an old school desk to put my barbeque on yet. I’m sure I’ll find one eventually though, totally missed the chance last time and it’s another case of kicking myself on that one.

My swag (while light) included a bit of fly screen that I’ll be tacking up on the bathroom window to keep the mosquitoes out once and for all (I refuse to be a summer meal for them again… being woken up in the middle of the night to a mozzie bite, only to have to kill 9 of them shouldn’t happen), a cool chinese designed round metal tray, some leaf-shaped nibbles trays (for the picnic I’m totally organising this summer)… and these:

I’m going all thrift store to re-do my art wall. Need a few more pieces, but I’ll aquire them slowly (I want a few more needlepoints… they’re insanely cute), but I like these two birds. They’re clearly having some relationship issues and aren’t speaking to each other at the moment, but I’m sure they’ll work through it. Not sure if I’ll do anything about the frame (paint? new one?), or head to Reverse Garbage next weekend and grab some matting for it.

But… the best find… and the one that’s freaked a few people out, but totally follows on from another piece I got there…..

Bald yo-yo clown mirror! He can be best friends with Sleazy Stripper Clown!

From the dump shop we went to Rivers (don’t judge me) where I got some belts, shorts and a pair of sweet shiny black shoes for work. I wanted polo shirts and pairs of thongs ($2.90!) in ever freaking colour of the rainbow, but… they had all sold out. Rivers is a bit of a tease like that some times. And then we hit up the new food market near Grand Plaza. Totally going back there. It’s James St Market for bogans, all the food’s there, but the prices are cheaper… and the mullets are out. And the rat tails. And that “haircut” where it’s just a fringe and everything else is shaved. That’s weird. What is that? And why?

Getting back to mum’s place, it would seem my aunty is just slowly moving in under the guise of a “clothing swap”. Good on mum for already rummaging through the bags and taking out the good stuff. Scored myself a few canvases, and two books on nail and thread art… very VERY 70s, and looking forward to making one… or two…. the owl and zebra designs have caught my eye!

Oh – and I cooked dinner too (mum helped a little….)… Pan Fried Gnocchi with a Blue Cheese, Garlic and White Wine sauce with Chorizo and Mushrooms and a side of pancetta wrapped asparagus with dates (tasty!).

 ……I think that about covers this day in history. I believe tomorrow brings a haircut and making a pumpkin pie with mum. If anyone from America is reading this… Pumpkin Pie isn’t exactly standard fare in Australia… we don’t do Thanksgiving or Halloween (not with the same intensity at least), so I’m looking forward to trying it. It better be good America, that’s all I’m saying!

As an end note, enjoy my current song addiction – Marina and the Diamonds – Shampain, I’m having trouble not listening to it… rather addicting:

Leave a Reply

