sitting, the sport of kings!

1 Nov

So my couch has failed so sell. I’m not surprised. She’s ugly and we teased her all through highschool. So now I have to wait a few days to put it back up on ebay. I have way too much couch at the moment!

My boss swung by my place on Sunday with a trailer and we went into the CBD to retrieve my new lounge set. I’ve somehow made parts of it fit, though the one seaters are currently stacked on top of each other, awaiting the grand loungeroom shift that’ll happen when brown marshmallow is sold.

Here is new couch. She’s about 15cm longer than old couch, but much lower, and because the arms are shorter, I can lie down on it completely and not look like I’ve drapped myself over a semi-formed beanbag. It also helps tie together the furniture in my loungeroom, a mix of thrift, IKEA style MCM and modern lines. Thank god for retro modern!

And here is armchair-stack:

 

My arms are killing me, but I’m very happy with my free aquisition of seating. Did I mention they’re comfortable? And a few friends demanded that they were sleep-worthy for nights out. They pass the bill!

I don’t know what I’m going to do about recovering. I might just put a nice sheet or something over the seating cushions for now, until I decide if I should reupholster them or not. If I do, it’ll most likely be just the removable cushions and not the base couch itself. Will have to find a nice fabric that compliments the leather.

In other news, myself and the other secretaries at work recieved gift cards for Coles Myer late last week. I squandered mine on food. After a little flicking through the internet I came up with some things I wanted to try my hand at, and walked away with a small chicken for roasting, a massive slab of pork belly (I’ve seen so many fantastic looking dishes with pork belly that I’m just dying to try some), Chicken Maryland (in lieu of duck.. because I could only buy from the stores the gift card allows) and duck fat… so a poultry confit. Also got my hands on some gnocchi, blue cheese, cream and walnuts – which ended up being a modification of the below recipe from Poh’s Kitchen (her book has just been released too – will be buying that when I’m paid next!):

(note – I went the lazy step and bought gnocchi, wasn’t much time to make it from scratch, though it’s certainly on my list of things to do!)

Gnocchi with Gorgonzola and Walnuts (I used blue cheese)

Ingredients

  • 1 kg Desiree or Royal Blue potatoes
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 250 – 300g plain flour
  • 3 tbs cream
  • 250g gorgonzola cheese – Dolce variety
  • 100g walnuts
  • Chopped chives to garnish

Method

  1. Fill a large sauce pan with cold water, place in the potatoes, with the skin still on and bring to the boil. Cook for approximately 45 minutes (depending on size) or until tender.
  2. Drain the potatoes in a colander, peel and then pass through a mouli or a potato ricer (while still hot). Gently mix in three-quarters of the flour, egg and salt and work it into a smooth mound. Stop adding the flour when it is slightly sticky but firm.
  3. Flour your bench and take a quarter of the potato mixture and roll it into a sausage shape. Cut the desired sized gnocchi from the mixture.
  4. Lightly dusting with flour all the time, take a fork or ‘rigga gnocchi’ (wooden gnocchi board) and push each piece of dough onto the prongs so that it rolls off and marks lines onto the dough. Try to keep all gnocchi the same size.
  5. For the sauce, place cream and broken-up gorgonzola in pan on a low heat so that it melts slowly.
  6. Cook the gnocchi in a large pot of salted water. When the gnocchi has risen to the surface remove with a strainer and place straight into the gorgonzola sauce and mix gnocchi through sauce.
  7. Garnish with chives and chopped walnuts. Serve immediately!

It tasted delicious! And I’ll make sure I keep you all updated on my next little cooking adventure (most likely a roast chicken of some description with duck fat-roasted potatoes)

Leave a Reply

