marshmallows shouldn’t be brown.

24 Oct

Two and a half years ago I moved into my little baby rental unit. Only 6 months out of home, I found this place, put an application in, got it and moved in all in the space of a week.

We’ve been through alot, this place and I, two lost jobs, lost love, a thousand karaoke sessions aided and abetted by alcohol, the summer heat and mosquitos, and the constant death stare I give my couch.

For a bit of back story, when I moved in, I had alot of furniture. Let me rephrase – whenever I’ve occupied one room (a bedroom) my belongings have always seemed plentiful. But a bed and tv unit a house do not make. My first two weeks here (middle of winter….) were spent shivering on the floor, covered in the thinest blanket this world has ever seen, watching Torchwood and eating sweet potato chips. A friendly passerby (we’ll refer to her as “Mother”) noticed I lacked a couch, and so off we went for a day of couch hunting. This was back in the day when I wanted a formal space, with a colour theme (red, black and white)… and somehow ended up with a lumpy brown couch (out of everything we sat on in my price range, it was the most comfortable…)

Turn the clock forward a few years, and while the comfort remains, my style has changed, and the couch is really too tall for the space (it takes up way too much visual room and is very imposing on my loungeroom). So I’ve been on the hunt for a new couch, and everything’s too pricey damnit (and I nearly ended up getting a couch from Fantastic Furniture…. I know… I cried too!)

-unsure how to segue this well-

So I work at a real estate firm in asset services, and one of the buildings we look after recently did a lobby refurb, so the old couches are up for free grabs! They’re 15 years old, leather, and used to be a deep dark colour (black or green) that has faded into a lighter green. A two seater and 2 one seaters. Long curved metal legs. And I’m pretty sure I can whip together some covers for the removable cushions.

Meanwhile… did I mention they’re free? The two seater is as long as my current couch, but has much thinner arms, so I’ll be able to fit 4 people on it (I can currently seat 3 on my couch) It’s also half the height!

So here is my current couch (no luck selling it yet on Gumtree…)

Ugly, yeah, I know.

Though hopefully my pain will be over soon. I’ll put photos up next weekend when the new couches arrive and I’ve finished figuring out how to rearrange the loungeroom completely.

Should be fun!

2 Responses to “marshmallows shouldn’t be brown.”

  1. Giovanna October 25, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    It’s great that you scored a new/old lounge suite… god bless your work 🙂

    • decoratingbrisbane October 26, 2010 at 1:40 am #

      Now if only I could sell the big brown horror before the new ones show up!

Leave a Reply

