i don’t think you’re ready for this jelly

9 Oct

I’ve had a bit of a craving for gelatine based desserts lately and I think part of the blame for it lies in this book I found a year ago at a Lifeline Bookfest

It’s from the mid 70’s and has a ton of retro recipes that involve gelatine. To be honest, alot of them involve meat, and just seem gross (makes me think of that gross jelly you find on the bottom of a cold roast chicken you get from coles). But it’s definately worth the flick through.

I’ve also been watching alot of Poh’s Kitchen lately, and in one episode she makes a Coconut and Palm Sugar Agar-Agar dessert

Once upon a time I also had friends that were part of a large filo family. Every gathering involved food, and most of the sweet treats were coconut and jelly involved.

So bear with me here while I try to indulge myself. I’m attempting to draw from two recipes here, one from Taste.com.au for Coconut Jelly and the other from an asian recipe community.

One calls for agar-agar, the other calls for gelatine. Here’s what I have to work with:

  • 2 tins of coconut cream
  • a packet of “Mr Gulaman Jelly Powder Mix” that a friend bought back from thailand for me.
  • A cup of coconut (I’ve used a mix of shredded and dessicated… because that’s what I had in the cupboard)
  • Sugar

Oh god I hope this works.

I’ve come up with this recipe:

  • 2 tins of coconut milk (800mL in total)
  • 1 packet of jelly mix (the recipe on the back of this mix calls for 1400mL of water to make jelly with, from my experience, with these desserts, you want your jelly a little firmer than your standard “aeroplane jelly”, so I’ll add 250mL of water as well)
  • 3/4 cup of sugar. (One recipe calls for a cup, the other for 125g of sugar)
  • Neither recipe calls for coconut… so I’m adding it anyway for texture, and it should be fine based on a pannacotta recipe that allows you to add coconut with agar agar powder (some fruits etc won’t allow gelatin to set… and you want to be sure right!)

Alright, so off we go. Dump everything into a saucepan and stir while you bring it to heat:

Once it’s hot and starting to bubble, sprinkle the powder over the top. It’s green and smells weird. But… I’m wiling to just go with the flow here. You need to make sure it all dissolves, which turned out to be a bit of a challenge because it mostly lumps together. Most of the stirring process involved mashing lumps of jelly mix with a fork into the side of the saucepan and trying to mix it in.

Once it come to the boil, take it off the stove and put it into a jelly mold. Woe is me, I don’t own a jelly mold. I really wish I did, and it’s on my list of things to buy (as well as a few more packets of jelly mix so I can do this more often!) I had to pour it into a metal roasting pan instead:

……I know right. Sorry Poh.

It sets at room temperature, and the top of the pan has already developed a skin! As have the remnants in the saucepan.

But let’s cheat! I have a fridge! We’ll stick it in there and see how it goes. I’ll make sure to update on the taste later!

 

EDIT – Tastes good! Though probably could have done without the shredded coconut, and only a small amount of dessicated. I’ll have to rememember for next time!

 

Here’s the video from Poh’s Kitchen. I’m addicted to this show. I never watch Masterchef, but this show has so much fun and personality!

One Response to “i don’t think you’re ready for this jelly”

  1. Matthew P Gridley October 9, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Wow, sounds delicious

Leave a Reply

