new farm antiques (a retropalooza!)

3 Oct

I’m not usually one to get up during the day on a weekend and go wandering by myself, but it’s been a rather sedentry weekend, and I figured I’d climb up off the couch and go for a walk.

I’ve been wanting to check out the antique centre on commercial road at teneriffe ever since I moved to the area (which was late ’07), but never got around to it.

Why on earth did I put it off for so long!?! They have everything I’ve ever wanted in my place. Lovely Danish furniture (that would only need it’s cushions reupholstered to look fantastic), a zebra skin rug (if anyone would like to donate to me $2000 I’d be more than happy to buy it for myself!), retro kartell furniture (in a lovely beige colour) and an orange plastic pendant cover that I’m totally going back for when I get paid… and looks exactly like the one over at manhatten nest, although not as new and glossy, though I’m sure some elbow grease and orange gloss spray paint could fix that.

But the absolute find of the day had to be this retro couch set, already marked as sold (shame) that had me grinning from ear to kitschy ear:

I don’t know why, but I live for stuff like this! If only I had found it first! Though I doubt it’d be all that great in summer, it’s obviously covered in a vinyly “fabric” that resembles one of those christmas tableclothes you use outside.

….And both summer and christmas are drawing ever closer. Should be interesting to see what Brisbane gets up to for that!

2 Responses to “new farm antiques (a retropalooza!)”

  1. Matthew P Gridley October 3, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Wow, I am writing this down to visit some time, I love antiques at the best of times so this will be a fun adventure.

    • decoratingbrisbane October 3, 2010 at 5:27 am #

      The one at Paddington is also fantastic, and I missed the chance way back when to snag an orange 1960s kartell stool. Still kicking myself about that one. Hoping to get to the antique center at Woolloongabba when I’ve got some money too. I’m hearing good things about it.

Leave a Reply

