dump shop clown

2 Oct

Everytime my mum and I go to the dump show there is this same print of a sad clown holding  a rose. The first time I saw it… I spent a good 10 minutes staring at it in blank recognition. After enquiring with mum, it turns out this is the EXACT same print one of my Aunts had up in the family home in the late 80s/early 90s. It’s always at the dump shop, no one has purchased it, and if you’re ever there, you’ll probably see it.

The best thing? It turns out it’s just one in a series of sad clown prints. And the others are slowly amassing at the same dump shop. If they’re not careful, I may one day figure out a way to incorporate their sad tackiness into the decor of my place.

Until then, enjoy the following image of Sad Clown with a White Rose.

There is something sordidly tacky and kitsch about Brisbane. And I’ll make it work, even if it kills me!

One Response to “dump shop clown”

  1. Matthew P Gridley October 3, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    Wow she’s beautiful, I have heard of the sad clown portraits but never seen any of them, I shall thus enquire as to their where-abouts! Do we know a circa era of production?

Leave a Reply

