all catalogue prices are maximum prices valid until august 1, 2011

25 Sep

Something came for me today, delivered in a car (because I’m special) by a good friend, and I’m very excited about it. I had been perusing the online version for a few weeks now, but nothing beats the feel of the real deal.

As a bit of a design addict, you tend to find inspiration in anything. I’ve met too many people (we’ll call them “design wankers”) who dismiss this place as cheap, nasty (mainly because of where the Queensland one is located) and devoid of any furniture or decorative item worthy of merit or purchase.

They should be shot.

And of course I’m talking about IKEA. And I’m now the proud owner of the 2011 IKEA Catalogue

I do agree that you can’t just buy everything from IKEA, because then your home would be devoid of any real personality (it takes time, searching and a lot of trial and error to come up with a look that really shows who you are, and that will forever be changing!), kind of like when someone just buys a bedroom or lounge room set to furnish their place (or those hideous “deals” from Fantastic Furniture…. furnish your house for $1500!…… most of the stuff is shoddy, weak and wobbles like hell).

Having said that, some pieces from IKEA are generally considered staple pieces. The EXPEDIT and BILLY systems come to mind.

The catalogue is a fantastic diversion from the store, and gives you a greater sense of what you can do with the furniture you find there. There are also some fantastic little design gems… artwork designed for the sets that you can’t buy in stores, an interesting paint job.

I’ve gone through the catalogue and found a few of my favourites.

Showing off their new wall cubes. They’re not that cheap, but I love the tin robots and paint job. And moreso, I LOVE the tin robots!

These sort of artwalls have been done to death lately. Unorganised and fantastic to look at. But I don’t blame them – they only get one catalogue a year. And I think it all looks great set against the white.

I’m a sucker for bursts of colour, what can I say.

8-bit floral KLIPPAN sofa. I’m not a fan of the couch comfort wise, but they really do rock out with some awesome cover designs for this puppy. If they’d make it softer, I’d consider buying one. Maybe.

IKEA will help you install your new kitchen! And… I’m guessing another part of them saving money is to just clone this one person, and send his copies out. You only need to pay the person who was cloned right?

OK – that had nothing to do with design, but it made me laugh when I saw it.

Oh you’re all going to learn how much I love quirky, odd things. This cloud ceiling is great. And if I wasn’t renting, I’d probably do something similar to my drab white ceilings.

This was great. Above a page advertising BILLY bookshelves, this cute art series with leaves, beetles, butterflys and patterns.

Bit of boho morrocan chic for your family kitchen!

So now, I just have to wait for my next IKEA trip. Though I’ll probably end up splurging on a cowhide rug. Something about them just feels right in my place. (It’s probably the balsa wood deer head and plush bear hunting trophy I already have….)

5 Responses to “all catalogue prices are maximum prices valid until august 1, 2011”

  1. Kristy September 25, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    OMG Clinton! I NEED the wall cubes! I went looking for shadow boxes at the Dubai Ikea the other day and there was NOTHING available. Now, I’m hanging out to get my hands on these and do something with Andrew’s godforsaken lego and transformers…

    • decoratingbrisbane September 25, 2010 at 7:42 am #

      Don’t knock lego! I’m dying to get my hands on some.

      I want to get some wooden wine crates instead or those boxes, wallpaper and bottom of them, and attach them to the wall, or attach them to each other and use them as a sort of bookshelf system.

  2. Princess Kristy September 26, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    Yup, I want them for an open/funky bookshelf system too. Andrew has collected the entire first two series of the collectable mini figures….

  3. mat October 1, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    My Expedit wall unit has been my central furnishing for over eighteen months now. Though am a bit of a fan of the Billy bookcases too, envisage a wall of bookcases one day…

    • decoratingbrisbane October 1, 2010 at 3:48 am #

      the large ones work wonders as a room divider in larger places.

      The Billy does give you that feel like in the library room in Beauty and the Beast, doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

