nothing like some home cookin’ (does this count?)

24 Sep

Having wanted to do a bit of (semi) healthy snack food cooking lately, last Sunday I made a batch of muesli bars (we’ll call them muesli slice) with the intention of having them to take to work to eat in between meals (I’m a mad snacker, and I’m generally seen eating something at my desk).

Plan didn’t go too well – my team caught wind of them, and insisted I bring some in. And thus, over two days, more than half of my supply dwindled.

They’re just that good! (And I think I’m now stuck with the expectation of making something delicious for my guys once a week…) The recipe is adapted from “Homemade muesli bars” found at Taste.com.au (link below)

Of course I changed a few things, purely because some stuff I had already, and I couldn’t for the life of me find wheatgerm. But recipes are never set in stone, simply a guide. My changes are in italics

http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/1457/homemade+muesli+bars

Homemade muesli bars – Makes 16

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut (used a ½ / ½ cup mixture of desiccated and shredded)
  • 1/2 cup wheatgerm (Used walnuts instead)
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower kernels
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas) (Used puffed rice instead)
  • 1 cup sultanas
  • 125g butter
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (found using a bit more brown sugar, closer to half a cup, gave a nicer consistency)
  • Added chocolate chips to the top. Because seriously, it’s not the same without them

Method

  1. Grease and line a 3cm deep, 16cm x 28cm (base) baking pan with baking paper. Cook oats, coconut, wheatgerm (Walnuts), sesame seeds, sunflower kernels and pumpkin seeds (Puffed rice) in a frying pan over medium heat, stirring, for 8 to 10 minutes or until golden. Transfer to a bowl. Set aside to cool. Stir in sultanas.
  2. Cook butter, honey and sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat, stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes or until sugar dissolves. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low. Simmer, without stirring, for 7 minutes or until mixture forms a soft ball when a little is dropped into ice-cold water. Add to dry ingredients. Stir until combined.
  3. Spoon mixture into pan. Use a large metal spoon to press down firmly. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top and press them down into the mixture with the spoon. Allow to cool. Cut into squares. Store in a foil-lined airtight container for up to 7 days.

They do keep quite well, but you want to make sure they don’t get too warm before you eat them, as the honey/butter/sugar mix will start to soften up again.

And here is all I have left 😦

I miss you already, delicious muesli slice.

Meanwhile, I’ve been invading my ears with Sam Tsui. YouTube singing sensation, and just the most amazing voice (and teeth! check out that smile…)

Leave a Reply

